Olear takes over as IEST president

Olear takes over as IEST president

Mount Prospect, IL

The Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology (IEST) announces George Olear II as its president, taking the reins from John B. Goodman, who has served as president since July 1997. Olear`s one-year term begins this month. He was elected to the post by IEST`s members. Olear belongs to the member group technical staff and is a senior test engineer at Texas Instruments Corp. Materials and Controls Group in Attleboro, MA. He has been involved in environmental testing for 16 years. He is no newcomer to the IEST Executive Board having served in the past as president-elect, communications vice president, secretary, vice president, and national director of the Boston chapter. Goodman remains on the board as immediate past president.

“During my tenure as president,” says Olear, “it is my goal to assure that IEST will continue to be a primary resource for education and a forum for professional development; will continue to be the global leader in standards and practices for controlled environments related to testing, contamination control, and product reliability; will be recognized as the international resource for controlled environments relating to testing, contamination control, and product reliability; and will continue to be financially secure and stable. I look forward to continuing my work in helping to guide IEST into the 21st century as the global leader that these four goals envision.”

Serving with Olear and Goodman are newly-elected executive board members Jeffry A. Schutt, president-elect; Mitchell Mazer, fiscal vice president; and Robert A. Predmore, education vice president. Owen D. Grossman was re-elected as communications vice president. Remaining on the executive board during the coming year are IEST technical vice presidents Robert B. Spector, contamination control; Robert L. (Andy) Anderson, design, test, and evaluation/product reliability; membership vice president Barry N. Greenberg; national director vice president Michael A. Fitzpatrick; and executive director Julie Kendrick. — KS


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.