IEST division restructures working group hierarchy

IEST division restructures working group hierarchy

Mt. Prospect, IL — The Contamination Control Division of the Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology (IEST) is soothing its growing pains by restructuring the Working Group program into more manageable committees.

According to a report recently presented by the Division`s technical vice president, Bob Spector, five committees have been created, with a committee chairperson assigned to each. Spector says Working Group chairs will now report to these committee chairs as their first point of contact. The committee chairs will report into the chair of Standards and Practices.

“This approach will allow us growth in several areas at the same time,” Spector wrote in his report. “The primary function of these (committee chairs) is to be sure that the Working Groups within their respective committees will continue to move forward to the completion of their assigned tasks. We have far too much at stake as a major document producer in support of ISO/TC 209 to let this run amuck.”

Committee 1/Filtration will be chaired by Donna Kasper of Hollingsworth & Vose. Working Groups include WG-001: HEPA and ULPA filters; WG-002: Laminar flow clean-air devices; WG-006: Testing cleanrooms; WG-007: Testing ULPA filters; WG-019:Qualifications for agencies and personnel engaged in testing; WG-021: Testing HEPA and ULPA filter media; WG-034: HEPA and ULPA filter leak tests; and WG-100: Federal Standard 209.

Committee 2/Operational Products will be led by Nora Sylvestre of W.L. Gore & Associates. Working Groups include WG-003: Garment system considerations; WG-004: Evaluating wiping materials; WG-005: Cleanroom gloves and finger cots; WG-020: Substrates and forms; WG-025: Evaluation of swabs; WG-032: Packaging materials.

Committee 3/Procedural will be led by Bob Giroux of Certifab Inc. Working Groups include WG-013: Calibration of equipment; WG-014: Calibrating particle counters; WG-018: Cleanroom housekeeping; WG-022: Electrostatic charge in cleanrooms; WG-026: Cleanroom operations; WG-027: Personnel in cleanrooms; WG-029: Automotive paint spray.

Committee 4/Facilities will be led by Don Lutz of Dryden Engineering Co., Inc. Working Groups include WG-012: Cleanroom design; WG-024: Vibration in microelectronics facilities; WG-028: minienvironments; WG-030: cleanroom electrical systems; WG-033: Environmental code and definitions.

Committee 5/Environmental Control will be led by Chuck Berndt of C.W. Berndt Associates. Working Groups include WG-008: Gas phase adsorber cells; WG-016: Non-volatile residue in cleanrooms; WG-017: Ultrapure water; WG-023: Microorganisms in cleanrooms; WG-031: Outgassing performance criteria.

The Governmental Standards group will continue to be led by Joyce Steakley of Lockheed Martin.


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.