Shining Stars of the Industry

The Recipients of The 2001 Advanced Packaging Awards

The industry learned for the first time the winners of The 2001 Advanced Packaging Awards at a special cocktail reception at SEMICON West in July. For once, news of this kind didn't break from telephones ringing off the hook or from polite but persistent e-mail correspondence. Instead, it took breaking well-sealed envelopes in front of a crowd of nearly 200 to announce the winners.

Hosted at The Capital Club Athletics in San Jose with twinkling lights and a big-band-style band, the main event was kicked off by Advanced Packaging's publisher, John Bubello. SEMI's president and CEO, Stan Meyers, offered a speech about the importance of packaging and that it was “about time” to start an awards tradition that will “celebrate the timeless notions that teamwork makes things happen and innovation pushes us forward.”

The program, launched by Advanced Packaging magazine this spring and sponsored by SEMICON West, included submissions of eligible products from January 1, 2000, to March 31, 2001. A neutral panel of 10 judges from major universities, consortiums and consultancies used a 10-point scale to evaluate submissions based on innovation, cost effectiveness, speed/throughput, quality, ease of use, maintainability, and environmental responsibility.

Sealed envelopes were opened by members of the Advanced Packaging magazine staff to a crowded room of hopeful entrants and industry watchers. Winners of The 2001 Advanced Packaging Awards program are listed here by category, company name and product entry. Next year's program will be open to products launched from April 1, 2001 to March 31, 2002. To receive information about The 2002 Advanced Packaging Awards, please contact Amy Knutson-Strack ([email protected]).

Click here to enlarge image

RVSI's Scott Lutzow, Mary Grace Stevens and Earl Rideout celebrate their win.

Click here to enlarge image

David Brostoff (Brostoff & Associates), Frank Murch (Asymtek), Roberta Foster-Smith (Asymtek), Adam Japko (PennWell Advanced Technology Division) and Megan Wendling (Advanced Packaging magazine) relax before the awards are announced.

Click here to enlarge image

David R. Van Loan (left), president and CEO, and Mark Swart, vice president of corporate research and development, of Everett Charles Technologies accept their award.

Click here to enlarge image

2001 Advanced Packaging Award Winners and Advanced Packaging magazine staff. Front, left: Kathleen Peterson, Paul Reid (Kulicke & Soffa), Roger Emigh (STATS), Tim Villeneuve (Lambda Physik), Amy Knutson-Strack. Back row, left: John Bubello, Scott Lutzow (RVSI), Jeffrey Demmin, Mike Coleman (ESEC), Earl Rideout (RVSI), Neil MacRaild (DEK).

Congratulations to the Winners of The 2001 Advanced Packaging Awards


Wafer Dicing H

Covering sawing and other processes that separate chips in a wafer format
Lambda Physik USA Inc.
Gator Diode-pumped Solid State Lasers

Die Placement and Attach H

Including the handling, alignment and attachment of a chip to a substrate
Palomar Technologies
Laser Diode Attach Automated Assembly Cell

Wire Bonding H

The time-honored process of making electrical connections from a chip to the next level of packaging with wire
Kulicke & Soffa Industries
Triton RDA (Ribbon Deep Access) Bonder

Interconnection H

Covering the many methods of creating electrical contacts between components
Six Sigma
Column Attach Services

Encapsulation/ Molding H

The science and art of sealing a chip inside a more rugged housing
No-Flow Underfill UF 3400

Solder Bumping H

Covering the processes and equipment that create ball of bump interconnections on chips or packages
DirEKt Ball Placement System

Test & Inspection H

Spanning the many processes and equipment used to evaluate products at all points in the process flow
Everett Charles Technologies
Automated Scanman

Contract Services H

The critical business that lets companies hand off part of the process flow and focus on their own areas of expertise
ST Assembly Test Services Ltd. (STATS)
Simplified Package Modeling

Packing & Shipping/ Distribution H

The methods by which a customer actually receives a good part
DT8000 High Performance Tape and Reel System

Software H

For any part of the packaging process that is helped with specialized software
B-BEM Adapter

Click here to enlarge image

Dale Albright (left), sales and marketing manager, and Russell T. Winslow, president, accept Six Sigma's award.

Click here to enlarge image

Hopeful entrants and industry guests await the awards ceremony while enjoying a cocktail reception and live music.

Click here to enlarge image

Joe Bell (left) and Bradley Benton of Palomar proudly display their company's winning trophy.

Click here to enlarge image

Michael Ko, application development engineer, accepts 3M's award while working at SEMICON West.

Click here to enlarge image

Morton Perchick, co-president of Kulicke & Soffa Industries, displays the company's trophy with its winning entry.

Click here to enlarge image

Mary Gilgallon (Key Communications), John Bubello and Nancy Garafano (SEMI).

Click here to enlarge image

John Bubello congratulates the evening's first winner: Tim Villeneuve, business development manager, of Lambda Physik.

Click here to enlarge image

Kris Collins (Solid State Technology magazine), Tim Adams (Dow Corning), Cynthia Pang (APCO Worldwide), Lynn Backus (Solid State Technology magazine).

Click here to enlarge image

Jeffrey Demmin opens a sealed envelope to announce STATS the winner of the Contract Services award.


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.