IEEE’s CPMT announces winners

Pisctaway, N.J. – The Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Society (CPMT) of the IEEE recently announced the winners of its annual awards for technical excellence, achievement, leadership and service.

The David Feldman Outstanding Contribution Award was given to Dr. Herbert Reichl, a founder and director of the Fraunhofer IZM in Germany. Reichl received the award for his technical leadership and outstanding contributions to the microelectronics packaging industry.

The Outstanding Sustained Technical Contribution Award was given to Avram Bar-Cohen (University of Maryland) for his many contributions in the area of thermal management. Bar-Cohen is the editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Components & Packaging Technologies.

Another professor among the winners was C. P. Wong of the Georgia Institute of Technology, who won the Exceptional Technical Achievement Award for his work in polymeric materials for packaging applications.

The Electronics Manufacturing Technology Award was given to Scott Kulicke, chairman and CEO of Kulicke & Soffa. He was recognized not only for his accomplishments with K&S, but also as the founding chairman of SEMI/SEMA TECH and as chairman of the U.S. Department of Commerce's Technical Advisory Committee on Semiconductors.

Finally, two individuals received the Outstanding Young Engineer Award: Christine Kallmayer (Fraunhofer IZM) and Li Li (Motorola). Kallmayer has worked on Au-Sn interconnections and flex packaging, and Li was recognized for her work on flip chip processes and embedded passives.


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.