Intel gives nod to top suppliers

March 22, 2006 – Intel Corp. has handed out its annual awards to more than three dozen suppliers from its roster of thousands of supply-chain partners, ranging from capital equipment manufacturers to materials, components, and service providers.

Twenty-six winners of Intel’s 2005 preferred quality supplier (PQS) awards scored at least 80% on a list of performance and ability goals, including cost, quality, availability, delivery, technology, and responsiveness. Another 12 honorees scored better than 95% to earn Intel’s top nod, its supplier continuous quality improvement (SCQI) award.

Intel launched the SCQI program in 1987 to improve the systems and output of key suppliers, in an effort to minimize the amount of time and money spent inspecting incoming material, goods, and services purchased. The company honored 43 suppliers last year, and a high of 45 companies in 2003.

Winners of the PQS award are:

– AceCo Precision Semiconductor Components (fab equipment spare parts);
– Advantest Corp. (testers and handlers for flash, logic, memory and mixed signal devices);
– Alphasem (die sort equipment);
– Amkor Technology Inc. (semiconductor assembly and test services);
– Chaun Choung Technology Corp. (thermal solutions);
– Daifuku Co., Ltd. (automated material handling systems);
– DEK Printing Machines Ltd. (printing machines);
– Delta Design (test handlers);
– Enplas Semiconductor Peripheral Corp. (burn-in and test sockets);
– Fuji Film Electronic Materials (advanced materials, wet chemistry and equipment);
– IBM Corp. (servers and workstations);
– ICOS Vision Systems NV (component inspection equipment);
– Johnson Controls Inc. (facility maintenance and management);
– KES Systems and Service (1993) PTE LTD (burn in board, test interface units and tooling maintenance);
– Komatsu Electronic Metals Co. Ltd. (epitaxial and annealed silicon wafers);
– MiTAC International Corp. (motherboard assembly and design services);
– Moses Lake Industries/Tama Chemicals (plating and high purity chemicals);
– NuFlare Technology Inc. (mask writers);
– Rosendin Electric Inc. (electrical construction services);
– Siliconware Precision Industries Co., Ltd. (semiconductor assembly and test services);
– Siltronic (polished and epitaxial silicon wafers);
– The Hibbert Group (marketing services);
– Thermal Product Solutions (pre-bake and cure ovens);
– Tokyo Ohka Kogyo Co. Ltd. (lithography materials); and
– TSMC (processed wafers).

The 2005 SCQI winners are:

– Asymtek, a Nordson Company;
– Daewon Semiconductor Packaging Industrial Company;
– Dainippon Screen Manufacturing Co., Ltd.;
– Disco Corporation;
– Hitachi High-Technologies;
– Hitachi Kokusai Electric Inc.;
– Kelly Services Inc.;
– NEC Electronics Corporation;
– Nikko Materials Co., Ltd.;
– STATS ChipPAC Ltd.;
– SUMCO Corporation; and
– Tokyo Electron Limited.


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.