IEST presents technical awards

The Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology (IEST) acknowledged the technical accomplishments of its members and supporters at the annual awards recognition and annual membership meeting that took place during ESTECH 2006 in May.

Charles W. Berndt (left) is named a Fellow of IEST. Stanley Poynor, IEST President 2005-2006, presents the award. Photo courtesy of IEST.
Click here to enlarge image

For his technical knowledge, professional skills, and distinct contributions to advancing the environmental sciences, Charles W. Berndt was named a Fellow of IEST.

Richard Matthews was presented with a special award given by ISO for his leadership of ISO Technical Committee (TC) 209, Cleanrooms and Associated Controlled Environments. He also received the Monroe Seligman Award for his twelve years of leadership in ISO/TC 209 as Chairman, his dedicated service to IEST, and his leadership in the contamination-control industry.

The President’s Award, bestowed each year by the IEST president, was given to Michael Roy for his long-term service to IEST, both in the Chesapeake Chapter and at the national level.

Stanley Poyner presents R. Vijayakumar (left) with the Al Lieberman Award. Photo courtesy of IEST.
Click here to enlarge image

Several other awards were presented to individuals in the contamination-control industry. The Robert L. Mielke Award was presented to Robert Peck for founding the IEST Contamination Control Standards and Practices program. IEST Fellow R. Vijayakumar was presented the Al Lieberman Award for his productive participation in the IEST and the positive example he sets for others. Mark Hallworth received the James R. Mildon Award for his published papers on contamination monitoring and control; his support of PDA and ISPE; and his advancement of the knowledge of pharmaceutical aseptic monitoring techniques.

A number of awards were also given to individuals in the design, test, and evaluation industries. Jon Wilson was awarded the Reliability Test and Evaluation Award for his long-term contributions to IEST and its members in the fields of reliability and evaluation. The Dave S. Steinberg Award was presented to John Lindberg for his contributions in identifying problems with and posing solutions for many commercial products and military equipment. The Climatics Award was given to David Gibbons for his efforts in educating new climatic test personnel. The Irwin Vigness Award, presented for contributions to the fields of shock and vibration through published papers, studies, and reports, was given to David Smallwood for his shock analysis techniques developed over the last thirty years.

Thomas J. Stadterman and Donald B. Barker were presented the Maurice Simpson Technical Editors Award for their paper entitled “Practical Assessment of Electronic Circuit Cards under Mechanical Shock Loading.”

In the field of space simulation, Joseph L. Stecher III was presented with the John D. Campbell Space Simulation Award for contributions to the field of spacecraft testing.

Angela DeHaan of Nelson Laboratories was presented the John Martin Outstanding Younger Member Award in recognition of her continuous, insightful participation and contributions to several IEST working groups.

John T. Ach was honored with the Fred Hermann Memorial Award, which provides recognition to members whose services have been primarily in chapter activities, for his long and faithful service as Treasurer to the Greater Ohio Chapter.


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.