SEMI taps Hermes-Epitek CEO as next chair, shuffles board seats

July 13, 2006 – Archie Hwang, chairman and CEO of Hermes-Epitek, has been elected chairman of SEMI’s International Board of Directors, succeeding Metron senior advisor Ed Segal who held the position for the past year. Also, new additions to SEMI’s board were named, including Wasuke Nakano, VP and GM of Hitachi High-Technologies’ semiconductor equipment business group, and Richard Wallace, CEO of KLA-Tencor Corp. Jerry Coder, president emeritus of DuPont Electronic Technologies, succeeds Segal as vice chairman of the board.

Hwang founded Hermes-Epitek in 1977, and was the 2005 recipient of SEMI’s Bob Graham Award, in recognition of his promotion and development of a service infrastructure and culture for semiconductor equipment sales in Taiwan, including local support and spare parts centers and free training, now the central strategy for any semiconductor equipment company entering the Taiwan market.

Segal served as chairman and CEO of Metron Technology from 1995 until 2004, when it was acquired by Applied Materials. He also is a past recipient of SEMI’s Bob Graham Award (2002), recognized for implementing the semiconductor industry’s first global sales and support organization.

SEMI also shuffled some seats on its board of directors. Reelected board members include: DuPont’s Coder; Robert Akins, chairman/CEO, Cymer Inc.; Arthur Katsaros, group VP of development and technology, Air Products and Chemicals; JC Kim, president of Songwon Edwards Ltd; Stephen Newberry, president and CEO of Lam Research Corp.; Kasei Nomiya, chairman of Ultratech KK; and Franz Richter, president of Unaxis’ semiconductor equipment segment.

Elected to SEMI’s board as first-time ex-officio directors were George Chamillard, chairman of Teradyne, and Atsushi Horiba, president and CEO of Horiba Ltd. Metron’s Segal; Brad Mattson, chairman of Tegal; and Duane Wadsworth, director of Micro-Mechanics, were elected as third-term ex-officio directors.

SEMI’s 18 voting directors — five non-voting ex-officio and seven emeritus directors — represent companies from Europe, Japan, Korea, North America and Taiwan. According to the association’s charter, individuals may be elected by the general membership as voting members of the board for a total of four two-year terms, and non-voting ex-officio members for a total of three one-year terms.


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.