IEST Scholars announced for 2007

April 9, 2007 — /IEST/ — ROLLING MEADOWS, IL– Three scholarships were established by IEST recently, and the first recipients of the $500 awards are:

Robert N. Hancock Scholarship to the author of the best student paper published in the Journal of the IEST: Scott J. Distel, a student at Mesa State College in Grand Junction, Colorado, wrote in his letter accepting the scholarship: “It is truly an honor to have been selected as the 2007 recipient of the Robert N. Hancock Scholarship. I sincerely thank you for bestowing upon me this great privilege. I am all the more encouraged in my educational and professional pursuits in the field of Environmental Science because of this recognition by the Institute of Environmental Science and Technology. Furthermore, in addition to the financial aspect of the scholarship, I am appreciative of the opportunity to have my scientific paper published in the prestigious Journal of the IEST.” His paper will be published in the next issue of the Journal.

Eugene Borson Memorial Scholarship to an outstanding student in science or engineering: Brent Borochoff is an entering freshman at the University of Texas-Austin, majoring in civil engineering. In addition to excellent grades, his science project in designing a pump filtering plant earned Best in State honors.

Park Espenschade Memorial Scholarship to an outstanding student in science or engineering: John Khazraee is a sophomore at Daytona Beach Community College, majoring in mechanical engineering. In addition to an outstanding academic record, he has been active for several years in the Aerospace and Aviation Academy, and was named to Phi Theta Kappa, international honor society for students in two-year colleges.


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.