Purafil director honored with ASHRAE Distinguished Service Award

During the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers’ (ASHRAE) annual meeting in Long Beach, CA, Purafil’s technical director Chris Muller was honored with a Distinguished Service Award (DSA). Muller, a 12-year member of the organization, serves as a Distinguished Lecturer and as chair of the ASHRAE Standard Committee 145P, which was charged with the task of engineering the ASHRAE Standard 62.1-Ventilation for acceptable indoor air quality.

Purafil’s technical director Chris Muller (right) receives a Distinguished Service Award from 2006-2007 ASHRAE president Terry E. Townsend, PE (left). Photo courtesy of Purafil, Inc.
Click here to enlarge image

In addition to these ongoing responsibilities, Muller remains involved within the organization as a voting member of several committees and as a co-author of the ASHRAE Standard 62.1-2004 User’s Manual. He is also a frequent contributor to CleanRooms magazine.

Muller says that his role at Purafil, which involves managing the technical services group and keeping abreast of new technology for air cleaning-“both complementary and competitive”-has been greatly enhanced by his involvement with the industry organization “based on the far-reaching effects that some of the work I’m doing will have.” He continues, “As chair of [ASHRAE’s Standard Projects Committee (SPC)-145], I’m responsible for the committee that is writing the standards that could be applied nationally and internationally to assess the performance of chemical filter systems.”

Altogether, nearly 60 members of ASHRAE were recognized at the plenary session during the annual meeting. Founded in 1894, the society continues to influence the progress of heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration technology through its approximately 50,000 members with expertise in energy efficiency, indoor air quality, codes and standards, and guidance for a safe environment during extraordinary incidents. For more information regarding ASHRAE and the award recipients, visit www.ashrae.org.


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.