IBM, ASML, others gain SPIE Fellow honors

Feb. 27, 2008 – Eight new Fellows have been added to SPIE’s roster to honor their scientific and technical contributions in optics/photonics/imaging, and to the group in particular. Also, receiving awards at this year’s SPIE Advanced Lithography symposium were researchers from ASML, IBM, KLA-Tencor, and the U. of Wisconsin/Madison.

The new Fellows, named below, are among 29 SPIE Fellows from the advanced lithography community, and a total of 72 new SPIE Fellows promoted this year:

– Christopher P. Ausschnitt, IBM Microelectronics Division
– Peter De Groot, Zygo Corporation
– Elizabeth Dobisz, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies
– Mircea Dusa, ASML U.S. Inc.
– Winfried Kaiser, Carl Zeiss SMT AG
– Shinji Okazaki, Hitachi Ltd.
– Richard Silver, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
– David Williamson, Nikon Research Corporation of America.

A team from IBM’s Almaden Research Center and Semiconductor Research and Development Center received the C. Grant Willson “Best Paper” award, for their work on fluoro-alcohol materials with tailored interfacial properties for immersion lithography. Another “best paper” award for metrology/inspection/process control went to Matthew Sendelbach and Javier Ayala (IBM’s microelectronics division) and Pedro Herrera (KLA Tencor) for “Predicting electrical measurements by applying scatterometry to complex spacer structures.”

ASML’s Martin van den Brink was named recipient of the Fritz Zernike in recognition of his pioneering contributions to the advancement of optical lithographic exposure tools. And Roxann Engelstad, U. of Wisconsin/Madison and 2008 SPIE symposium chair, was given a certificate of appreciation for her years of leadership of the symposium.


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.