IEST elects new officers

May 21, 2008 — ROLLING MEADOWS, IL — The Institute of Environmental Sciences and Technology (IEST) is pleased to announce its new officers for the term beginning July 1, 2008.

Charles W. Berndt moves from the position of president-elect to IEST president. A Fellow of IEST, Berndt is involved in many ESTECH and Working Group activities. He is the principal in C.W. BERNDT Associates. Berndt spent six years as group manager of the Araclean Division of ARA/Aratex Services (now known as ARAMARK Cleanroom Services) and holds a bachelor’s degree in chemistry-biology from Roosevelt University in Chicago. He serves on the editorial advisory board of CleanRooms magazine.

Other new officers are: Michael Rataj, president-elect; Greg Winn, membership vice president; Roger Diener, education vice president (Contamination Control); and Christine Peterson, technical vice president (Design, Test, and Evaluation/Product Reliability).

Mike Rataj has been involved in the contamination control industry for 12 years since taking over as QA manager for ARAMARK’s Chicago cleanroom plant. Rataj holds an MS in biology from the University of Illinois and an MBA in operations management from the Illinois Institute of Technology Stuart School of Business. He has served as IEST membership vice president and is chair of Working Groups CC003 and CC023.

Greg Winn is general manager for White Knight Engineered Products Controlled Environments Division. His career has encompassed business and product development for industrial machinery, hardware, and software for analytical laboratory equipment, as well as environmental testing as a methods development chemist. Winn is a member of Working Group CC003: Garment System Considerations for Cleanrooms and Other Controlled Environments.

Roger Diener is a senior member of IEST and the recipient of IEST’s James R. Mildon Award in 2003. He has served as president and vice president of the New England Chapter. His practical experience in protocol development and manufacturing operations engineering has allowed him to actively contribute in the development of many IEST Recommended Practices.

Christine Peterson has almost two decades of experience in testing, ranging from helping to write original specifications (or updating existing ones) to running the tests herself, along with teaching the topic worldwide. Peterson previously served as IEST communications vice president and has been an ESTECH seminar chair (or co-chair) and IEST Working Group member. She also has served as chair for IEC/TC 104 MT 16 and chair for ISO/TC 108, SC 6.

Remaining on the executive board are R.Vijayakumar, fiscal vice president; David Ball, education vice president (Design, Test, and Evaluation/Product Reliability); Gregg Mosley, communications vice president; Gary Knoth, technical vice president (Contamination Control); and Fred Fey, immediate past president.

About IEST
Founded in 1953, IEST is an international not-for-profit technical society of engineers, scientists, and educators that serves its members and the industries they represent (simulating, testing, controlling, and teaching the environments of earth and space) through education and the development of recommended practices and standards. IEST is an ANSI-accredited standards-developing organization; secretariat of ISO/TC 209 Cleanrooms and associated controlled environments; administrator of the ANSI-accredited US TAG to ISO/TC 209; and a founding member of the ANSI-accredited US TAG to ISO/TC 229 Nanotechnologies.



Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.