Microelectronics standards leaders honored by SEMI

July 12, 2012 — SEMI honored six industry leaders for their outstanding accomplishments in developing standards for the microelectronics and related industries, recognizing the recipients at a reception held during SEMICON West 2012.

The 2012 Karel Urbanek Award, the most prestigious award in the SEMI Standards Program, was awarded to Dr. Tzeng-Yow "Victor" Lin of Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI), Taiwan, where he is deputy general director of the Center for Measurement Standards. Lin has been active in SEMI Standards since 2004, jointly leading a petition (with members from Korea) to form the FPD Metrology Committee in 2008, and successfully receiving approval from the SEMI International Standards Committee. Under Lin’s strong leadership, the committee developed and successfully published five new FPD Standards, and seven task forces are now working on topics ranging from 3D Display to Touch-Panels to e-paper. In addition to frequently organizing Standards education programs for new Taiwan members, Lin played a key role in the recent formation of the PV and 3DS-IC Committees in Taiwan, and has led the way in showing other new regions how to get activities started in the Standards Program. A true pioneer, Lin has had a profound impact on the SEMI Standards Program.

North American Standards awards:

This year’s Merit Award was presented to David Busing of KLA-Tencor for his leadership and technical expertise as a member of the Metrics Committee. Last fall, SEMI E10 went through an extensive revision and, as the leader of the E10 Revision Task Force (now part of the Equipment RAMP Metrics Task Force), David was instrumental in successfully completing this project. David clearly demonstrated the necessary commitment, dedication and leadership that revising an ‘industry-critical’ standard such as SEMI E10 required.

The Leadership Award was presented to Chris Moore of Semilab for his outstanding leadership in guiding the SEMI Standards Program. Chris has been a member of the program since 2009 and has been an instrumental part of expanding the SEMI PV Standards portfolio. He spearheaded the PV Minority Carrier lifetime Working Group, which was responsible for the development of SEMI PV9, and led the PV Electrical and Optical properties Measurements Task Force, which published SEMI PV28. Most importantly, as co-chair to both the HB-LED committee and 3DS-IC committees, his expertise and leadership have helped the committees become more effective.

The Honor Award recognized Larry Hartsough of UA Associates for his long standing dedication to the advancement of SEMI Standards. As an active participant in the program, Larry has held numerous leadership positions over the years. He has previously served as chair of the PIC Committee and chaired a task force on utilities, which included interconnects. He currently serves as chair of the ISC Audits and Reviews Subcommittee, and is a Member-at-Large in the North America Regional Standards Committee and the ISC Regulations Subcommittee.

This year’s Corporate Device Member Award was presented to Tom Quinn of Intel. The award is presented to an individual from a device manufacturer, who has demonstrated outstanding contributions to the development of SEMI Standards. Tom, who is co-leader of the 450mm North America and 450mm International Task Forces, has been integral in the development of carrier standards for 450mm wafers. His work has ensured that communication between device manufacturers, equipment and component suppliers in the 450mm arena, is both open and productive. Tom’s leadership and contributions have help command the development of the SEMI E159 and SEMI E162 publications.

The Technical Editor Appreciation Award recognized Alan Crockett of KLA-Tencor. With exceptional writing and editing skills, he drafted several 450mm standards under the PIC Committee, which included the development of technical content, schematics, diagrams and document structure. As part of the North American EHS Committee, Alan worked to develop a new Safety Guideline for robots and load ports and his efforts were published as SEMI S28. Alan’s dedication and meticulous attention to detail has aided SEMI in its ability to provide valuable Safety Guidelines to the industry. 

SEMI is a global industry association serving the nano- and microelectronics manufacturing supply chains. The SEMI Standards Program, established in 1973, covers all aspects of microelectronics process equipment and materials, from wafer manufacturing to test, assembly and packaging, in addition to the manufacture of photovoltaics, flat panel displays and micro-electromechanical systems (MEMS). Over 3,700 volunteers worldwide participate in the program, which is made up of 23 global technical committees. Visit www.semi.org/standards for more information about SEMI Standards.

Check out Solid State Technology’s coverage of SEMICON West 2012!


Easily post a comment below using your Linkedin, Twitter, Google or Facebook account. Comments won't automatically be posted to your social media accounts unless you select to share.